Skip Sub Menu

About NAC

NAC Member

Tom Temple

2nd Term 1/1/2007-12/31/2009
Executive Vice President
Iowa Pharmacy Association
Des Moines, Iowa

B.S. Biology & Chemistry, 1971, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb
B.S. Pharmacy 1975, University of Illinois
M.S. 1977, University of Iowa


Biography: Thomas R. Temple is the Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA), a position he has held since 1980. Mr. Temple received a B.S. degree in Biology from Northern Illinois University (1971), a B.S. degree in Pharmacy from the University of Illinois (1975) and a M.S. degree in Pharmacy Administration from the University of Iowa (1977). In addition to serving as the Chief Executive officer of IPA, Mr. Temple also serves as CEO of the Iowa Pharmacy Foundation (IPF), Pharmacy Network of Iowa (PNI), the Iowa Pharmacy Recover Network, and the Collaborative Education Institute -- four subsidiary corporations of the Iowa Pharmacy Association.

Mr. Temple is a member of several professional organizations including the IPA, the American Pharmacists Association, the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA), and the American Society of Association Executives (ASAE). A past president of NASPA, he has served as a Board member for Quality Assurance, Inc., the Pharmacy Marketing Group, NASPA-Quality Improvement, Inc, and the Iowa Initiative to Reduce Unintended Pregnancies, and as a member of numerous professional committees including Medic Alert National Task Force, ACPE's CE Advisory Council, ACPE's Doctoral Fellowship Committee, the State Advisory Panel to the National Pharmacy Technician Certification Board and Advisory Committees for Drake University, the University of Iowa and the University of Illinois Colleges of Pharmacy. He has also served as a member of Pharmacy Advisory Boards for Upjohn, Glaxo Wellcome, Merck, Hoechst Marion Rousell, and PCS.

Mr. Temple's leadership has been recognized through receipt of several awards including APhA's Gloria Neimeyer-Francke Leadership Mentor Award, the Medic Alert Outstanding Service Award, the University of Illinois' College of Pharmacy Alumnus of the Year Award, the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Award and the University of Iowa Distinguished Alumni Award for Service.

Click here to return to National Advisory Council

CPHS Calendar