Student Records and Academic Information

The Office of Student Records and Academic Information is responsible for the accuracy and integrity of all student records.  Included in our responsibilities are:

2016-2017 Important Dates (Except Law School)

Mon Aug 29
Start of fall semester
Fri Sept 2
Last day to add a class
Mon Sept 5
Labor Day (university closed; classes do not meet)
Mon Sept 12
Last day to drop a class without a "W" on transcript
Mon Sept 12 Midterm grading begins (due Mon, Oct 24, 10:00am)
Tue Oct 4
Spring 2017 schedule of classes available
Mon-Tue Oct 17-18
Fall break
Wed Oct 19
Semester midpoint
Wed Oct 19 Graduation applications due for anticipated December graduates
Mon Oct 24 Midterm grades due by 10:00am
Mon Oct 24 Deadline by which field-of-study changes must be made to be considered for spring registration
Wed Oct 26 Last day to drop a class
Mon Oct 31
Spring 2017 registration begins (except for non-degree-seeking students)
Tue Nov 1
Final grading opens (due Wed, Dec 21, 10:00am)
Mon Nov 14 Field-of-study restrictions removed from set of restricted courses
Wed Nov 16 Spring 2017 registration opens for non-degree-seeking students
Wed Nov 16 Waitlist automation begins for spring 2017 classes
Tue Nov 22 Thanksgiving break begins after evening classes (University closes at noon Nov 23)
Mon Nov 28
University reopens; classes resume
Fri Dec 9
Day free for study
Mon-Fri Dec 12-16
Final evaluations
Fri Dec 16 End of fall semester
Sat Dec 17 Commencement
Wed Dec 21
Fall 2016 final grades due by 10:00am
Fri Dec 23 Winter break begins (University closed)
Tue Jan 3
University reopens
Tue Jan 3
J-term begins
Wed Jan 4
Last day to add or drop a J-term class
Mon Jan 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university closed; classes do not meet)
Wed Jan 18
Waitlist automation for spring 2017 classes stops
Fri Jan 20 J-term ends
Mon Jan 23 Start of spring semester
Fri Jan 27
Last day to add a class
Wed Feb 1
J-term final grades due by 10:00am
Fri Feb 3
Last day to drop a class without a "W" on transcript
Fri Feb 3 Midterm grading begins (due Mon, Mar 20, 10:00am)
Mon Feb 6
Deadline by which December graduates' requirements must be met to be considered a December graduate
Wed Feb 15 Graduation applications due for anticipated May and August graduates
Tue Feb 28
Summer 2017, Fall 2017, and 2018 J-term schedule of classes available
Fri Mar 10 Semester midpoint
Mon-Fri Mar 13-17 Spring break
Mon Mar 20 Midterm grades due by 10:00am
Fri Mar 24 Last day to drop a class
Mon Mar 27
Deadline by which field-of-study changes must be made to be considered for summer/fall/J-term registration
Mon Apr 3
Final grading opens (due Wed, May 17, 10:00am)
Mon Apr 3
Summer 2017, fall 2017, and 2018 J-term registration begins (except for non-degree-seeking students)
Mon Apr 17 Field-of-study restrictions removed from set of restricted courses
Wed Apr 19
Summer 2017, fall 2017, and 2018 J-term registration opens for non-degree-seeking students
Wed Apr 19
Waitlist automation begins
Wed-Sat Apr 26-Apr 29
Drake Relays
Fri Apr 28 Undergraduate classes dismissed at 1:50pm
Fri May 5
Day free for study
Fri May 5
Summer 2017 waitlist automation stops
Mon-Fri May 8-12 Final evaluations
Fri May 12 End of spring semester
Fri May 12 Pharmacy hooding ceremony
Sat May 13 Commencement
Wed May 17
Spring 2017 final grades due by 10:00am

Full Academic Calendar

University News
September 22, 2016
The Drake University Chamber Choir, choirs from four Des Moines area high schools, and a professional orchestra will perform Gabriel Faure’s well-known Requiem at 3 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 9.
×