Skip Sub Menu

Academic Calendar

Click here for future academic calendars. Note that an academic calendar is not official until it has been CONFIRMED by Faculty Senate.

Summer 2020

  • May 18 (Mon.)
    Summer term begins
  • May 25 (Mon.)
    Memorial Day (university holiday; classes do not meet)
  • Jun 19 (Fri.)
    Juneteenth observance (university holiday; classes do not meet)
  • Jul 3 (Fri.)
    Independence Day observance (university holiday; classes do not meet)
  • Aug 23 (Sun.)
    Summer term ends

Fall 2020 (Non Law School)

  • Aug. 24 (Mon.)
    Fall term begins - classes will be delivered remotely during first week of fall semester
  • Aug. 28 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Sept. 4 (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Sept. 7 (Mon.)
    Labor Day (university holiday; classes do not meet)
  • Oct. 14 (Wed.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • TBD
    Mandatory fire drills
  • Oct. 26 (Mon.)
    Last day to drop a class without extenuating circumstances
  • Nov. 23-27 (Mon.)
    Thanksgiving break (classes do not meet)
  • Nov. 30 (Mon.)
    Classes resume and will be delivered remotely through remainder of fall semester
  • Dec. 4 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • Dec. 7-11 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period - evaluations will be delivered remotely
  • Dec. 11 (Fri.)
    Fall term ends
  • Dec. 12 (Sat.)
    Commencement

J-Term 2021

  • Jan. 4 (Mon.)
    J-term begins
  • Jan. 18 (Mon.)
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university holiday; classes do not meet)
  • Jan. 22 (Fri.)
    J-term ends

Spring 2021 (Non Law School)

  • Feb. 1 (Mon.)
    Spring term begins - classes will be delivered remotely during first week of spring semester
  • Feb. 5 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Feb. 12 (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Mar. 19 (Fri.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • TBD (Wed.)
    Mandatory tornado drill
  • Mar 31 (Wed.)
    Last day to drop a class without extenuating circumstances
  • Apr. 21-24 (Wed.-Sat.)
    Drake Relays (Non-Law classes suspended for Drake Relays at 1:50pm on Fri, Apr 23)
  • Apr. 26 (Mon.)
    Classes resume
  • May 7 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • May 10-14 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • May 14 (Fri.)
    Spring term ends
  • May 15 (Sat.)
    Commencement

This is the official Academic Calendar for Drake University.  It is updated and maintained by the Office of the Registrar.

Click here for future academic calendars. Note that an academic calendar is not official until it has been CONFIRMED by Faculty Senate.

University News