Skip to Content
Skip Sub Menu

Lectureship Committee

When the Lectureship was established, a committee was appointed to oversee it. Current Lectureship Committee members include:


When the Lectureship Series was first established, the initial Lectureship Committee appointed by President Michael Ferrari included:

Myron Marty, the Ann G. and Sigurd E. Anderson University Professor, has been the chair of the committee and coordinator of the lectures since its inception. He was assisted by Susann Siebke until his retirement in 2001. Beginning with the lecture in March 2000 by Marian Wright Edelman, administrative support has been provided by Rod Henshaw, dean of Cowles Library, and Susan Breakenridge, special assistant to the dean.

Charlotte Hubbell also served on the initial committee but resigned when her family moved to the Netherlands.

Contact Us

For more information, contact Erica Hartschen, Assistant to the Vice President for University Advancement, at 515-271-4990 or

Previous Lecturers

  • Heather McGee
  • Bob Woodward
  • Marie Yovanovitch
  • Jon Meacham
  • Megan Rapinoe
  • Lisa Ling
  • Douglas Brinkley
  • Billy Collins & Clint Smith
  • Krista Tippett
  • Bill Nye the Science Guy
  • Peter Neufeld
  • Nina Totenberg
  • Tim Gunn
  • Walter Isaacson
  • Neil deGrasse Tyson
  • James Balog
  • Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter
  • Vicente Fox
  • Garrison Keillor
  • Twyla Tharp
  • Dr. Azar Nafisi
  • Dr. Maya Angelou
  • Bill Bryson
  • Thomas R. Pickering
  • Erik Peterson
  • Nicholas Kristof
  • Bob Costas
  • Ben Cohen and Jerry Greenfield
  • David Chipperfield
  • Dr. Jane Goodall
  • Tim Russert
  • Sarah Jones
  • Salman Rushdie
  • Wynton Marsalis
  • Michael Beschloss
  • Earvin 'Magic' Johnson
  • Ken Burns
  • Bill Moyers
  • Martin Marty & Archbishop Rembert Weakland
  • Marian Wright Edelman
  • Senator Paul Simon
  • Doris Kearns Goodwin
  • David McCullough
  • Ben Bradlee
  • Thomas Friedman