Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

The Academic Calendar lists official milestones and events that define the academic terms, exam dates, breaks, and other academic milestones. The calendar is managed by the Office of the Provost and Office of the Registrar.

Click here to view additional important dates.

Click here for future academic calendars. Note that an academic calendar is not official until it has been CONFIRMED by Faculty Senate.

Summer 2022

  • May 16 (Mon.)
    Summer term begins
  • May 30 (Mon.)
    Memorial Day (university holiday; classes do not meet)
  • Jun 20 (Mon.)
    Juneteenth observance (university holiday; classes do not meet)
  • Jul 4 (Mon.)
    Independence Day (university holiday; classes do not meet)
  • Aug 21 (Sun.)
    Summer term ends

Fall 2022 (Non Law School)

  • Aug. 29 (Mon.)
    Fall term begins
  • Sept. 2 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Sept. 5 (Mon.)
    Labor Day (university holiday; classes do not meet)
  • Sept. 12 (Mon.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Oct. 7-9 (Fri.-Sun.)
    Family Weekend
  • Oct. 17-18 (Mon.-Tue.)
    Fall break (classes do not meet)
  • Oct. 19 (Wed.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • TBD
    Mandatory fire drills
  • Oct. 26 (Wed.)
    Last day to drop a class without extenuating circumstances
  • Nov. 23-25 (Wed.-Fri.)
    Thanksgiving break (classes do not meet)
  • Nov. 28 (Mon.)
    Classes resume
  • Dec. 9 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • Dec. 12-16 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • Dec. 16 (Fri.)
    Fall term ends
  • Dec. 17 (Sat.)
    Commencement

J-Term 2023

  • Jan. 3 (Tue.)
    J-term begins
  • Jan. 16 (Mon.)
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university holiday; classes do not meet)
  • Jan. 20 (Fri.)
    J-term ends

Spring 2023 (Non Law School)

  • Jan. 23 (Mon.)
    Spring term begins
  • Jan. 27 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Feb. 3 (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Mar. 10 (Fri.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • TBD (Wed.)
    Mandatory tornado drill
  • Mar. 13-17 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Spring break (classes do not meet)
  • Mar. 29 (Wed.)
    Last day to drop a class without extenuating circumstances
  • Apr. 26-29 (Wed.-Sat.)
    Drake Relays (Non-Law classes suspended for Drake Relays at 1:50pm on Fri, Apr 28)
  • May 1 (Mon.)
    Classes resume
  • May 5 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • May 8-12 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • May 12 (Fri.)
    Spring term ends
  • May 13 (Sat.)
    Commencement

This is the official Academic Calendar for Drake University.  It is updated and maintained by the Office of the Registrar.

Click here for future academic calendars. Note that an academic calendar is not official until it has been CONFIRMED by Faculty Senate.