Skip Sub Menu

CPHS - Advisory Boards

NAC Guidelines

Athletic Training Advisory Board

Rhonda Beemer

Organization: NW Missouri State University

Position: Assistant Professor; Program Director of Applied Health Science

Current City: Bedford, IA

Degrees: BS in Exercise Science, 2000, Missouri Valley College;
MS in Physical Education, 2001, Eastern Kentucky University;
PhD in Administration and Teaching in Human Performance, 2003, The University of Southern Mississippi

Lisa Bengtson

Organization: Buena Vista University

Position: Clinical Education Coordinator of Athletic Training; Instructor of Exercise Science

Current City: Storm Lake, IA

Degrees: BA in Athletic Training, 2009, Augustana University;
MS in Athletic Training, 2011, University of Northern Iowa;
EdD in Interdisciplinary Leadership, conferred 2019, Creighton University


Angie Dahl-Miller


Nicholas Galioto

Organization: Broadlawns Medical Center

Position: Director of Transitional Year Residency Program; Associate Director of Family Medicine

Current City: Urbandale, IA

Degrees: BS, 1984, Creighton University; MD, 1988, Creighton University; 
Family Medicine Residency, 1988-1991, Broadlawns Medical Center;
Masters Medical Education, 2011, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine


Sarah Kennedy



Melanie Mason

Organization: Select Physical Therapy

Position: Iowa Director of Sports Medicine

Current City: Waukee, IA

Degrees: BA, 1997, Northwestern College; MS, 1998, Kansas State University;
Doctor of Athletic Training, conferred 2020, Temple University

Scott Meyer

Organization: Iowa Orthopaedic Center

Position: Physician

Current City: Des Moines, IA

Degrees: BA in Chemistry, 1982, Wartburg College; MD, 1986, University of Iowa College of Medicine


Jen Spry-Knutson

Organization: Iowa State University; Des Moines Area Community College

Position: Lecturer, Dept. of Fitness and Health (ISU); Chair, Fitness & Sports Management (DMACC)

Current City: Story City, IA

Degrees: BA in Leisure Studies, 1990, Iowa State University;
MA in Sports, Health, Leisure, and Physical Studies, 1995, University of Iowa



Kristen Strawhacker

Organization: Breathe Physical Therapy & Wellness

Position: Clinic Manager; Staff Physical Therapist

Current City: Des Moines, IA

Degrees: BS in Athletic Training, 2011, University of Iowa;
Doctorate of Physical Therapy, 2014, Washington University in St. Louis

Frankie Porter

Former Student Representative, 2018 - 19



Health Sciences Advisory Board


Denise Attard-Sacco

Organization: WISEWOMAN Program

Position: Implementation Coordinator


Marc Baumert

Organization: Broadlawns Medical Center

Position: Physician Assistant


Traci Bush

Organization: Des Moines University

Position: Chair, Program Director and Associate Professor, Doctor of Physical Therapy Program


Richard Deming

Organization: Mercy Medical Center Des Moines

Position: Physician, Radiation and Oncology


Kyla Dippold

Organization: Mercy College of Health Sciences

Position: Medical Laboratory Science Program Chair and Assistant Professor


James Grunert

Organization: Stryker

Position: Sales Representative


Meghan Schaeffer

Organization: AmeriHealth Caritas

Position: Director of Quality Management


Denise Hill

Organization: Drake University

Position: Associate Professor of Practice in Public Administration


James Holsapple

Organization: Boston Medical Center

Position: Chairman, Department of Neurosurgery; Program Director, Neurological Surgery


Becca Mahnesmith

Organization: Mayo Clinic

Position: Hematology-Oncology Nurse


B.S. Health Sciences, 2016, Drake University
B.S. Nursing, 2017, The George Washington University


Rachel Reimer

Organization: Des Moines University

Position: Director, Department of Public Health


Joshua Sandquist

Organization: Grinnell College

Position: Associate Professor, Department Chair of Biological Chemistry


Shelly Sayler Soorholtz

Organization: The Collaborative Education Institute

Position: Director of Strategic Partnerships

Degree(s): B.S. Biology, 1981, Drake University


Cassity Guiterrez

Drake Faculty Representative

Position: Chair and Associate Professor, Health Sciences Department


Cheryl Clarke 

Drake Faculty Representative

Position: Assistant Dean of Clinical Affairs and Director of Experiential Education


Ronald Torry

Drake Faculty Representative

Position: Professor of Pharmacology


Occupational Therapy Advisory Board


Ashley Adams

Organization: Optimae

Position: Occupational Therapist

Current City: Des Moines, IA


Jane Arnold

Organization: UnityPoint at Home

Position: Vice President of Operations and Home Care

Current City: Sioux City, IA


Beth Barkley

Organization: Des Moines Public Schools

Position: Occupational Therapist - North/East Elementary

Current City: Des Moines, IA


Denise Behrends

Organization: VA Central Iowa Health Care System

Position: Director of Therapy Services

Current City: Des Moines, IA


Michael Bushby

Organization: Unity Point

Position: Occupational Therapist

Current City: Sioux City, IA


Elizabeth Campbell

Organization: Unity Point

Position: Occupational Therapist

Current City: Waterloo, IA


Nichelle Cline

Organization: Kirkwood Community College

Position: Dean of Allied Health

Current City: Cedar Rapids, IA


Stephanie Cox

Organization: Mercy Rehab

Position: Future Occupational Therapist

Current City: Clive, IA


Gloria Frolek-Clark

Organization: Des Moines Public Schools

Position: Occupational Therapy and Early Childhood Consultant

Current City: Adel, IA


Pam Halvorson

Organization: UnityPoint Health Partners

Position: Next Generation ACO

Current City: West Des Moines, IA


Angela Hansen-Abbas

Organization: Millennium Therapy

Position: Director of Compliance & Documentation

Current City: Urbandale, IA


Brenda Pedersen

Organization: Blank Children's Hospital

Position: Occupational Therapist

Current City: West Des Moines, IA


Megan Roy

Organization: Unity Point

Position: Occupational Therapist

Current City: Moline, IL


Mary Schneck

Organization: Childserve

Position: Occupational Therapist

Current City: Coralville


Rachel Thennes

Organization: Manor Care

Position: Occupational Therapist

Current City: Davenport, IA


Samantha Williams

Organization: On With Life

Position: Occupational Therapist

Current City: Ankeny, IA


Denise Hill

Former Member

Organization: Drake University

Position: Director of Health Law Program


Abraham Martinez

Former Member

Organization: Flex Physical Therapy

Position: Occupational Therapist


Leanne O'Brien

Former Member

Organization: Care Initiatives

Position: Rehab Services Consultant




CPHS Events


  • CPHS Health Professions Day (formerly PHS Day)
    Feb 27
  • ASHP Reception
    March 22 | 5:30 - 7:00 PM
    Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center
  • CPHS Alumni Gathering
    April 25 | 2:30 - 4:30 PM
    SCB 301
  • College Calendar
  • University Calendar