Skip Sub Menu

Hartig Awards

Hartig: Loyal alumnus committed to education

Richard Hartig, a 1973 pharmacy graduate who received a master's degree in 1981, and his wife, Brenda, established the Hartig Pharmacy Fund for Drake's College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences in 2002. Hartig Drug Stores is America's second-oldest continuously operated family drug chain, caring for customers in three states for more than 100 years through traditional drug stores, a long-term care pharmacy, Finley-Hartig Homecare, and hospital partnerships. For more information, visit

The following awards are supported by the Hartig Pharmacy Fund:

  • Hartig Distinguished Professor Award
  • Hartig Faculty Entrepreneurial Leadership (previously Professional Development) Award

Hartig Distinguished Professor Award & Previous Recipients

The Hartig Distinguished Professor Award is awarded annually by the Dean of the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences to recognize a faculty member who has distinguished him/herself in teaching, scholarship, service, or practice. This monetary award is designed to recognize uniqueness, innovation, and creativity. Nominations should be submitted electronically to the Dean and should include the name of the individual nominated along with an explanation of how that individual has distinguished themselves. All faculty of the College are eligible to be nominated. Self-nominations will be accepted. Nominations are being accepted by the dean. The Hartig Distinguished Professor Award is presented annually at Health Professions Day.

Previous Recipients:

Hartig Faculty Entrepreneurial Leadership Award & Previous Recipients

The Hartig Faculty Entrepreneurial Leadership Award, previously the Professional Development Award, was established to support full-time Drake pharmacy students, faculty, or staff members’ proposal(s) to fund projects that focus on community or ambulatory pharmacy entrepreneurship projects, with priority to those with a rural health focus. Faculty are encouraged to submit for awards to support research and development activities designed to achieve such goals. Development funds will be available for use between July 1 and June 1 of the following year. One-page abstracts will be reviewed and the winners selected will be announced on Health Professions Day. 

Previous Recipients:

  • Erin Ulrich 2019-20
  • Michelle Bottenberg, Carrie Koenigsfeld, and Nic Lehman 2017-18
  • Erin Ulrich and Wendy Mobley-Buckstein 2014-15
  • Wendy Mobley-Buckstein and Nora Stelter 2012-13
  • Carrie Koenigsfeld and Nora Stelter 2010-11
  • Megan Friedrich 2009-2010
  • Renae Chesnut 2008-2009
  • Megan Friedrich 2007-2008
  • Denise Soltis 2006-2007
  • Sally Haack 2005-2006
  • Sandy Dirks 2004-2005


Previous Hartig Award Photos
CPHS Calendar