Skip Sub Menu

Board of Counselors


The Board of Counselors seeks to advance the cause of legal education and promote the interests of Drake Law School.

The Drake Law School Board of Counselors is an association of distinguished alumni and attorneys who meet on campus three times during the academic year to discuss issues related to the Law School and serve as advisers to the dean.

2018-19 Drake Law School Board of Counselors

Thomas Bernau, GR'85, LW'88
President, Bernau Capital Partners
West Des Moines, Iowa

David Brown, LW'75
Partner, Hansen, McClintock & Riley
Des Moines, Iowa

Scott Brown, LW'82
Managing Member, Brown, Kinsey, Funkhouser & Lander, PLC
Mason City, Iowa

Chas Cahill, LW'18
Former SBA President
Des Moines, Iowa

Richard M. Calkins, Ex-Officio
Mediator/Arbitrator, Calkins Mediation Services
Urbandale, Iowa

Elizabeth Coonan, LW'02
Partner/Member, BrownWinick
Des Moines, Iowa

Nicholas Cooper, LW'04
Member and Chair of the Management Committee, Whitfield & Eddy, PLC
Des Moines, Iowa

Diane Crookham-Johnson, LW'10
Principal Attorney, Crookham-Johnson Law Office
Oskaloosa, Iowa

Richard Davidson, BS'81, LW'84
Partner, Lane & Waterman, LLP
Davenport, Iowa

Lindsey Davis, LW'04
Partner, Zelle LLP
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Barbara Decker, LA'72, GR'73, LW'00
Executive Director, Catholic Charities
West Des Moines, IA

Denny Drake, LA'73, LW'77
Sr. VP and General Counsel, UnityPoint Health
West Des Moines, IA

Rebecca Duffy, LW'11
Attorney, Davis Brown Law Firm
Des Moines, Iowa

David Erickson, LA'74, LW'79
Senior shareholder, Davis Brown Law Firm
Des Moines, Iowa

Marc Franson, BN'77, GR'77, LW'80
Managing Partner, Chapman & Cutler, LLP
Chicago, Illinois

Jeffrey Goodman, LW'85
President, Goodman Law, PC
West Des Moines, Iowa

David Gorsche, LW'91
Assistant General Counsel, Wells Fargo
Des Moines, Iowa

Danielle Haindfield, JO'96, LW'99
Shareholder, Ahlers & Cooney, PC
Des Moines, Iowa

Rajee Harris, BN'10, LW'13, GR'13
Directory & Counsel, Partners Enterprise Capital
Chicago, Illinois

Nichole Hayden, LW'04
Of Counsel, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP
Greenville, South Carolina

Kristin Hays, LW'96
SVP Investor Relations & Communications, CorePoint Lodging Inc
Irving, Texas

Jon Hoak, LW'77
Of Counsel, Benesch Law Firm
Oakwood, Ohio

Lee Hook, LW'81
Partner, Peddicord Wharton Law Firm
West Des Moines, Iowa

Jeff Karch, GR'93, LW'93
Associate Chief Counsel, John Deere Financial
Johnston, Iowa

Ruby Kazi, LW'03
Of Counsel, Hopkins & Carley
San Jose, California

Gregory Kenyon, LW'78
Shareholder, Bradshaw Fowler Proctor & Fairgrave, PC
Waukee, Iowa

Lisa Kirkpatrick Gill, LW'01
Assistant U.S. Attorney, District of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Tye Klooster, LW'03
Partner, Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
Chicago, Illinois

Chad Knapp, LW'02
Associate Attorney, LaMarca Law Group
Des Moines, Iowa

Valerie Landis, LW'87
Attorney/Shareholder, Hopkins & Huebner, PC
Des Moines, Iowa

Kathleen Law, LW'05
Partner, Nyemaster Goode PC
Des Moines, Iowa

Gregory Lederer, LW'77
Founding Member, Lederer Weston Craig, PLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Jill Link, PH'05, LW'07
Member, McKee Voorhees & Sease PLC
Des Moines, Iowa

Steven Mauer, LW'87
Partner, Zerger & Mauer, LLP
Kansas City, Missouri

Todd McGuire, AS'96, LW'99
Partner, Stueve Siegel Hanson LLP
Kansas City, Missouri

Jackson O'Brien, LW'19
President, Student Bar Association 2018-19, Drake Law School
Des Moines, Iowa

Alan Olson, AS'89, LW'92
Owner, Managing Partner, Olson Law Office, PC
Des Moines, Iowa

Kevin Patrick, LW'12
Assistant County Attorney, Polk County Attorney's Office
Des Moines, Iowa

Janet Phipps Burkhead, LW'05
Director, Iowa Dept. of Administrative Services
Des Moines, Iowa

The Honorable David Porter, LW'04
District Court Judge, Iowa District 5C
Des Moines, Iowa

The Honorable S. Joseph Rubenstein, LW'75
Human Services Judge, Minnesota Dept. of Human Services
Plymouth, Minnesota

William Scales, LW'11
Associate, Lewis, Thomason, King, Krieg & Waldrop, PC
Nashville, Tennessee

Miranda Soto, LW'02
Partner, Shutts & Bowen LLP
Miami, Florida

Kimberly Stamatelos, LA'78, LW'81
Attorney and Mediator, Stamatelos & Tollakson, PLLC
Des Moines, Iowa

Raymond Terpstra, LW'81
Terpstra & Epping
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Mark Tripp, LW'80
Shareholder, Bradshaw Fowler Proctor & Fairgrave, PC
Des Moines, Iowa

Chinyere Ukabiala, LW'01
Ombudsperson, Grinnell College
Des Moines, Iowa

Greg Wilcox, LW'82
Shareholder, Nyemaster Goode PC
Des Moines, Iowa

Shannon Woods, LW'03
Assistant General Counsel, Assistant Vice-President, Hy-Vee, Inc.
Des Moines, Iowa

Law School News