Skip Sub Menu

Important Dates

Click here to view the current academic calendar

Important Dates

Important Dates - Drake Online Programs

Important Dates - Law School

Final Evaluation Schedule

Summer Add/Drop Deadlines

 

2022-2023 Important Dates

(Other Than the Law School and Drake Online Graduate Programs)
Mon May 16 Start of summer semester
Mon May 30 Memorial Day (university closed; classes do not meet)
Mon June 20
Juneteenth holiday (university closed; classes do not meet)
Mon July 4
Independence Day holiday (university closed; classes do not meet)
Sun Aug 21 End of summer semester
Fri Aug 26 Summer term final grades due by 10:00am*
Mon Aug 29
Start of fall semester
Thurs Sep 1 Midterm grading opens (due Mon, Oct 24, 10:00am)
Fri Sep 2
Last day to add a fall full-term class
Mon Sep 5
Labor Day (university closed; classes do not meet)
Mon Sep 12
Last day to drop a fall full-term class without a "W" on transcript
Tue Sept 27
Spring 2023 schedule of classes available
Mon Oct 17 Graduation applications due for anticipated December graduates
Mon-Tue Oct 17-18 Fall break (classes do not meet)
Wed Oct 19
Fall semester midpoint
Mon Oct 24
Fall semester midterm grades due by 10:00am
Mon Oct 24 Deadline by which field-of-study changes must be made to be considered for spring registration
Mon Oct 31
Last day to drop a fall full-term class
Mon Oct 31
Spring 2023 registration begins
Tue Nov 1 Final grading opens (due Wed, Dec 21, 10:00am)
Mon Nov 14 Field-of-study restrictions removed from set of restricted courses
Wed Nov 16
Spring 2023 registration opens for non-degree-seeking students
Wed Nov 16 Waitlist automation begins for spring 2023 classes
Wed-Fri Nov 23-25 Thanksgiving break (classes do not meet)
Mon Nov 28
University reopens; classes resume
Fri Dec 9
Day free for study
Mon-Fri Dec 12-16 Final evaluations
Fri Dec 16 End of fall semester
Sat Dec 17 Commencement
Tue Dec 20
Last day to add a J-term class online
Wed Dec 21
Fall semester final grades due by 10:00am
Fri Dec 23
Winter break begins (University closed)
Tue Jan 3
University reopens
Tue Jan 3
J-term begins
Wed Jan 4
Last day to add or drop a J-term class (without a "W" on transcript)
Thurs Jan 12 Last day to drop a J-term class (with a "W" on transcript)
Mon Jan 16
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university closed; classes do not meet)
Fri Jan 20 J-term ends
Mon Jan 23
Start of spring semeser
Fri Jan 27 Last day to add a spring full-term class
Wed Feb 1 Midterm grading opens (due Wed, Mar 22, 10:00am)
Wed Feb 1
J-term final grades due by 10:00am
Fri Feb 3
Last day to drop a spring full-term class without a "W" on transcript
Mon Feb 6
Deadline by which December graduates' requirements must be met to be considered a December graduate
Fri Feb 10 Instructor requests for consolidated final exams due (if so desired)
Wed Feb 15 Graduation applications due for anticipated May and August graduates
Tue Feb 28
Summer 2023, Fall 2023, and J-term 2024 schedule of classes available
Fri Mar 10 Spring semester midpoint
Mon-Fri Mar 13-17 Spring break (classes do not meet)
Wed Mar 22
Midterm grades due by 10:00am
Wed Mar 29
Last day to drop a spring full-term class
Mon Apr 3
Final grading opens (due Wed, May 17, 10:00am)
Mon Apr 3
Deadline by which field-of-study changes must be made to be considered for summer/fall/J-term registration
Mon Apr 10
Summer 2023, fall 2023, and J-term 2024 registration begins

Mon

Apr 24 Field-of-study restrictions removed from set of restricted courses

Wed

Apr 26 Summer 2023, fall 2023 and J-term 2024 registration opens for non-degree-seeking students
Wed Apr 26 Waitlist automation begins
Wed-Sat Apr 26-29 Drake Relays
Fri Apr 28 Undergraduate classes dismissed at 1:50pm
Fri May 5
Day free for study
Mon-Fri May 8-12 Final evaluations
Fri May 12 End of spring semester

Fri

May 13

CPHS Doctoral Hooding and Commencement Ceremony

Sat

May 13

Commencement
Wed May 17
Spring final grades due by 10:00am

*Final grades for summer courses are based on the end date of the course; however, the latest date by which summer grades can be submitted is Aug 26.  See Section 2.135 of the Faculty Manual for more details.

 

2022-2023 Important Dates -

Drake Online Graduate Programs
Mon May 9
Courses open in Blackboard (Preview Week begins)
Thurs May 12 Last day to add first summer six-week session class online
Sun May 15 Last day to drop first summer six-week session class online
Mon May 16 Start of first summer six-week session classes
Tue May 17 Last day to drop first summer six-week session class with a full refund
Wed May 18
Last day to drop first summer six-week session class without a W
Mon Jun 6
Last day to drop first summer six-week session class
Sun Jun 26 End of first summer six-week session classes
Fri Jul 1
First summer six-week session final grades due
     
Mon Jun 27 Courses open in Blackboard (Preview Week begins)
Thurs June 30
Last day to add second summer six-week session class online
Mon Jul 4
Last day to drop second summer six-week session class online
Tue Jul 5
Start of second summer six-week session classes
Wed Jul 6
Last day to drop second summer six-week session class with a full refund
Thurs Jul 7
Last day to drop second summer six-week session class without a W
Tue Jul 26 Last day to drop second summer six-week session class
Sun Aug 15 End of second summer six-week session classes
Mon Aug 22 Second summer six-week session final grades due
     
Mon Aug 22
Courses open in Blackboard (Preview Week begins)
Thurs Aug 25
Last day to add first fall six-week session class online
Sun Aug 28 Last day to drop first fall six-week session class online
Mon Aug 29
Start of first fall six-week session classes
Tue Aug 30
Last day to drop first fall six-week session class with a full refund
Wed Aug 31
Last day to drop first fall six-week session class without a W
Mon Sep 19
Last day to drop first fall six-week session class
Tue Sep 27
Spring 2023 schedule of classes available
Sun Oct 9
End of first fall six-week session classes
Fri Oct 14
First fall six-week session final grades due
     
Mon Oct 17 Graduation applications due for anticipated December graduates
     
Mon Oct 17 Courses open in Blackboard (Preview Week begins)
Thurs Oct 20
Last day to add second fall six-week session class online
Sun Oct 23
Last day to drop second fall six-week class onlne
Mon Oct 24
Start of second fall six-week session classes
Tue Oct 25
Last day to drop a second fall six-week session class with a full refund
Wed Oct 26
Last day to drop second fall six-week session class without a W
Mon Oct 31
Spring 2023 registration begins
Mon Nov 14
Last day to drop a second fall six-week session class
Wed-Fri Nov 23-25 University closed
Sun Dec 4
End of second fall six-week session classes
Fri Dec 9
Second fall six-week session final grades due
     
Sat Dec 17 Commencement
Fri Dec 23 Winter break begins (University closed)
Tue Jan 3
University reopens
     
Mon Jan 16
Courses open in Blackboard (Preview Week begins)
Thurs Jan 19
Last day to add first spring six-week session class online
Sun Jan 22 Last day to drop first spring six-week session class online
Mon Jan 23
Start of first spring six-week session classes
Tue Jan 24
Last day to drop first spring six-week session class with a full refund
Wed Jan 25
Last day to drop first spring six-week session class without a W
Mon Feb 6
Deadline by which December graduates' requirements must be met to be considered a December graduate
Mon Feb 13 Last day to drop a first spring six-week session class
Wed Feb 15 Graduation applications due for anticipated May and August graduates
Tue Feb 28
Summer and fall 2023 schedule of classes available
Sun Mar 5
End of first spring six-week session classes
Fri Mar 10 First spring six-week session final grades due
     
Mon Mar 13 Courses open in Blackboard (Preview Week begins)
Thurs Mar 16 Last day to add second spring six-week session class online
Sun Mar 19
Last day to drop second spring six-week session class online
Mon Mar 20 Start of second spring six-week session classes
Tue Mar 21 Last day to drop second spring six-week session class with a full refund
Wed Mar 22 Last day to drop first spring six-week session class without a W
Mon Apr 10 Last day to drop a second spring six-week session class
Mon Apr 10
Summer and fall 2023 registration begins
Sun Apr 30
End of second spring six-week session classes
Fri May 5
Second spring six-week session final grades due
Sat May 13 Commencement

*Final grades for summer courses are based on the end date of the course; however, the latest date by which summer grades can be submitted is Aug 26.  See Section 2.135 of the Faculty Manual for more details.

University News