Skip Sub Menu

Drake Law Review Awards

The Drake Law Review publishes articles, notes, and lectures that are academically and practically relevant to professors, judges, practitioners, and law students.

Each year, the Drake Law Review presents awards at the Drake Law Review Dinner recognizing accomplishments during the past year.

H.G. Cartwright Law Review Award

This annual cash award is presented to the student who submits the best Note to the Drake Law Review during the year. The award is named in honor of the late Harold G. Cartwright, LW1925, who participated actively in founding the Law Review and who was a loyal supporter of Drake Law School.

2023 recipient:
Caleb Piersma

Jeff Gilbert Memorial Writing Award

This award is named in honor of the late Jeffrey S. Gilbert, who was named to the 1985-86 editorial board shortly before his untimely death in 1985. The award is presented to the junior staff member who has made the greatest contribution to the success of the Drake Law Review.

2023 recipient:
Ami Penquite

Morris A. Haft Award

This annual award, established by Howard S. Haft, LW’53, in honor of his father Morris A. Haft, Esq., recognizes the role of the Drake Law Review in fostering the ardent study and scholarly discussion of law that Morris A. Haft personally championed and exemplified in his life and practice. The award is given to the graduating member of the Law Review staff or editorial board who, through individual effort, service, and leadership, has contributed most to the overall success and quality of the Law Review during the student’s membership.

2023 recipient:
Kyle Dawson

Friend of the Law Review

This award is presented to the Drake Law School faculty or staff member whose contributions toward the Drake Law Review and support of the students have made the Law Review a success this year.

2023 recipient:
Miguel Schor, Professor of Law

Law School Calendar 
Law School News