Skip Sub Menu

Student Bar Association Awards

The Student Bar Association (SBA) serves as the official governing body for the entire student body of Drake Law School.

Each year, the SBA presents awards honoring individuals who have made an extraordinary contribution to the success of the SBA programs or to the life of the student body as a whole. The awards are presented at the SBA Luncheon and Awards Ceremony as well as the Supreme Court Celebration Banquet.

SBA President’s Student Service Award

2019 recipients:
Sarah Golwitzer, Peter Larsen, and Anna Mallen

SBA Executive Board’s Outstanding Student Leader Award

2019 recipients:
Whitney Bugni, Mary Francque, and Nicole Krueger

SBA Executive Board’s Dean Sevice Award

2019 recipient:
John Edwards, Associate Dean for Information Resources and Technology, Professor of Law, and Library Director

SBA Executive Board’s Staff Sevice Award

2019 recipient:
Tom Rogers, Senior Technology Support Specialist

Leland Forrest Outstanding Professor Award

The recipient of this award is selected each year by students of the graduating class. The award recognizes outstanding contribution to quality legal education both in and out of the classroom.

2019 recipient:
Robert Rigg, Director of the Criminal Defense Program and Clinical Professor of Law

SBA Shane Sweeney Supportive Spouse Award

This award is given annually by the Drake Law School Council of Leaders in memory of Shane Sweeney, the spouse of Meghann Sweeney, LW'09. It recognizes the spouse of a law student who has shown outstanding support of his/her spouse and the Law School.

2019 recipient:
Sam Howells

Law School News