Skip Sub Menu

Board of Student Communications

The Board of Student Communications (hereafter referred to as “BSC”) shall have eight voting members, and other non-voting members determined as described below.

The representation on this committee shall be four faculty members and four students. The Faculty Senate shall appoint the faculty co-chair, and the student co-chair shall be the elected School of Journalism and Mass Communication (SJMC) Senator. In the fall, the faculty co-chair will be responsible for drafting agendas and facilitating meetings; in the spring, the student co-chair will have this responsibility instead of the faculty chair. This will be a full transition and vest the rights of the chair to the SJMC senator.

Faculty members will serve staggered, two-year appointments. At least two of the faculty members will be from the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, or any complementary major within another school (i.e. the Arts and Sciences representatives from English, Rhetoric, etc.). The remaining member must serve in the faculty of instruction.

Student members will serve for one-year appointments. Of the four student members, one shall be the elected School of Journalism and Mass Communication Senator, one shall be the Student Senate Organizational Council Senator, and one shall be a student in at least their second year at Drake who is not active in an editorial board position of any publication and who is appointed by the Student Body President. The BSC organizational chiefs shall choose the fourth member of the BSC in the first two weeks of the fall semester via a majority vote. In the event of a tie, the student co-chair shall cast the deciding vote.

Non-voting members shall include all appointed BSC position holders of each student publication under the supervision of the BSC. Other individuals may be designated as non-voting members by the BSC.

Voting faculty members shall be selected as determined by the Faculty Senate. Should a faculty voting member resign, the Faculty Senate shall provide a successor to fill that office for the remainder of the vacating member’s term.


Name Unit  Term of Service Expires
Lakshmi Tirumala SJMC May 2025 Co-chair
Dan Chibnall Cowles May 2025  
Beth Younger A&S May 2024  
Jeff Inman SJMC May 2024  
Eva Kellen Student Senator SJMC May 2024 Co-Chair
Abbie Whittemore Student Senator Organizational Council May 2024 Student Senate Appointee
Samra Aksamavic   May 2024 Student (non-editorial)
VACANT   May 2024 Editor's Pick


Upcoming Meetings 

Note: Regular Faculty Senate meetings will be held via Zoom for academic year 2023 – 2024.