Skip Sub Menu

University Benefits Committee

After review and approval by the Senate, the Committee is responsible for recommending employee benefits policies to the President.

The Committee is concerned with but not necessarily confined to insurance and retirement provisions for employees of the University. The membership of the Committee shall consist of four members of the Faculty of Instruction (at least one of whom should be nine-month and one twelve month contract) chosen by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and serving three-year, staggered terms; one exempt and one non-exempt staff member chosen by the All-Staff Council Executive Committee and serving three-year terms; a member of the bargaining unit; a representative of the Provost’s Office; and a retiree. The Director and Assistant Director of Human Resources, the Chief Administration Officer, the Chief Financial Officer and the Wellness Director serve on the Committee in an ex-officio capacity. The Senate Executive Committee chooses the Chair of the Committee who shall be a member of the faculty. (description updated May 2017)


Name Unit Term of Service  Position
Matt Dore Law Thru May 2020 Chair 2019-2020
Bruce Gilbert Cowles Thru May 2021  
Jen Thoma SOE Thru May 2022  
Greg Lengel A&S Thru May 2021  
Mike Daly CPHS    
John Stacy Bargaining Unit    
Tony Tyler Provost Office    
Marina Verlengia Exempt Staff Thru May 2020  
Sharyn O’Connor Non-exempt Staff Thru May 2021  
Gretchen Beckley Retiree    
Linda Feiden Wellness Director   Ex officio
Marlene Heuertz Assistant Director Human Resources, Benefits   Ex officio
Venessa Macro Chief Administration Officer   Ex officio
Mary Alice Hill Director Human Resources   Ex officio
Adam Voigts Chief Financial Officer   Ex officio
Steve Blaylock Non-exempt Service    

Note: All full Faculty Senate meetings will be located in Cowles Library, Room 201.

See Map Location