Skip Sub Menu

University Benefits Committee

After review and approval by the Senate, the Committee is responsible for recommending employee benefits policies to the President.

The Committee is concerned with but not necessarily confined to insurance and retirement provisions for employees of the University. The membership of the Committee shall consist of four members of the Faculty of Instruction (at least one of whom should be nine-month and one twelve-month contract) chosen by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee and serving three-year, staggered terms; one exempt and one non-exempt staff member chosen by the All-Staff Council Executive Committee and serving three-year terms; a member of the bargaining unit; a representative of the Provost’s Office; and a retiree. The Director and Assistant Director of Human Resources, the Chief Administration Officer, the Chief Financial Officer, and the Wellness Director serve on the Committee in an ex-officio capacity. The Senate Executive Committee chooses the Chair of the Committee, who shall be a member of the faculty. (description updated May 2017)



Name Unit Term of Service Expires
Mike Andreski CPHS May 2026  
Jeremy Kidd Law May 2026  
Nate Holdren A&S May 2024  
Andrew Welch Cowles May 2024 Chair
Eric Adae SJMC May 2025  
Elissa Johnson Non-exempt staff May 2024  
Andrew Verlengia Exempt staff May 2025  
Karl Kaiser Bargaining unit May 2025  
Edward Bell Retiree ongoing Professor Emeritus, Pharmacy Practice
Melissa Sturm-Smith Provost Office ex-officio Associate Provost for Academic Excellence and Student Success
Maureen De Armond Human Resources ex-officio Executive Director HR
Linda Feiden Human Resources ex-officio Wellnes Director
Marlene Heuertz Human Resources ex-officio Benefits Specialist
Venessa Macro   ex-officio Chief Administration Officer
Adam Voigts   ex-officio Chief Financial Officer


Upcoming Meetings 

Note: Regular Faculty Senate meetings will be held via Zoom for academic year 2023 – 2024.