Skip Sub Menu

University Curriculum Committee

The University Curriculum Committee (UCC), a subcommittee of the Faculty Senate, will recommend educational policy for the University regarding proposals that involve campus-wide requirements or that have origins, requirements, or implications that go beyond the individual colleges. Individual colleges and schools retain authority over their own curricula and programs.

  • The UCC will approve new majors, minors, concentrations, and programs, graduate and undergraduate, and changes to existing majors, minors, concentrations, and programs, graduate and undergraduate that have cross-college origins, requirements, or implications. These proposals must be submitted to the Council of Academic and Administrative Departments (CAAD) for review and comment on potential cross-college implications before submission to the UCC.
  • The UCC will approve individual courses for the categories of the general education program and approve assessment procedures for the general education curriculum.
  • The UCC will make recommendations to the Faculty Senate, as appropriate, for revision of the general education curriculum.
  • The UCC will approve individual courses with interdisciplinary designations such as INTD.
  • The UCC will forward all committee actions to the Faculty Senate for inclusion in a provisional agenda. The Faculty Senate may, at its discretion, review these actions. All UCC decisions will proceed as directed by the UCC, unless a subsequent action by the Faculty Senate directs otherwise.
  • The UCC will have faculty representation from each of the divisions of the College of Arts and Sciences, each of the professional schools, and Cowles Library. One administrative representative from CAAD and an administrator designated by the Provost (normally the Associate or Vice Provost who is appointed Director of the Drake Curriculum by the Provost) will serve on the committee in an ex-officio capacity. Members serve three-year terms.

The committee will elect one chair and one vice-chair from the faculty members of the committee. The chair shall be a tenured faculty member. The vice-chair shall be liaison to the Drake Curriculum Analysis and Planning (DCAP) committee and shall, if tenured, serve as chair the following year.


Name Unit Term of Service Expires
Sarah McCoy AS - Fine Arts May 2021  
Liping Zheng CBPA May 2021  
Carrie Dunham-LaGree Cowles May 2021 Chair thru May 2021
Danielle Shelton Law May 2021  
Michael Andreski CPHS May 2022  
Beth Younger AS - Humanities May 2022  
Adina Kilpatrick AS – Natural Sciences May 2023  
Mary McCarthy AS - Social Sciences May 2023  
Tonia Land SOE May 2023 Vice-chair and DCAC liaison
Jill VanWyke SJMC May 2023  
Melissa Sturm-Smith CAAD May 2021  non-voting
Art Sanders Associate Provost for Academic Success    
Kevin Moenkhaus Registrar's Office    


Note: All full Faculty Senate meetings will be located in Cowles Library, Room 201.

See Map Location