Skip Sub Menu

Moot Court Awards

The Moot Court Board aims to further the art of appellate, trial, and skills advocacy at Drake Law School.

The Drake Law School Moot Court Program consists of three intra-school competitions and 10 inter-law school competitions conducted at various times throughout the school year.

The Moot Court Board members are responsible for organizing all aspects of each team's involvement in the moot court competitions. In addition, the members serve as student coaches to the competitors.

Each year at the Moot Court Luncheon, the Moot Court Board presents awards honoring accomplishments during the past year.

Davis, Brown, Koehn, Shors & Roberts P.C. Awards for Excellence

This award is presented to the four finalists in the Supreme Court Competition.

2021 recipients:
Logan Brundage, Josh Hughes, Janise Lane, and Cory Mullins

Rodney L. Hudson Senior Advocacy Award

Each year this award is presented to a senior student who is judged by the moot court adviser to have given the most outstanding overall performance in moot court competitions throughout his or her law school career. The annual cash award is funded by the Rodney L. Hudson Family Foundation, established in honor of Rodney L. Hudson, LW 1916, whose career exemplified excellence in advocacy.

2021 recipient:
Mariah Kauder

M. Gene Blackburn Award

This annual cash award, funded by the law firm Simmons Perrine Moyer Bergman PLC,  is presented to the student who submits the best brief for the Supreme Court Competition. The recipient is chosen on the basis of superior writing skills that communicate an issue position based upon an innovative, creative, and concise approach. The award is named for M. Gene Blackburn, LW’55, in recognition of his dedication to the development of appellate advocacy while a professor at Drake Law School.

2021 recipient:
Logan Brundage

Drake Law School Alumni Service Award

This award is given annually to an alumnus for his or her generosity and dedication to the Drake Law School Moot Court Program.

2021 recipients:
Louis Sloven, LW'15

Order of the Barristers

The Order of the Barristers is a national society whose purpose is to recognize special efforts and contributions to moot court programs in American law schools. Membership is voted on the basis of outstanding participation in moot court competitions and service to the Drake Moot Court Board.

Order of the Barristers 2021:

Logan Brundage
Brett DuBois
Katelyn Gatzke
Megan Hall
Frederic Hayer
Josh Hughes
Mariah Kauder
Erik Kolsrud
Julie Solis-Alvarado
Elaina Steenson

Law School News