Skip Sub Menu

Class of 1981

Class of 1981 composite photo

Celebrating 40 years!
Drake Law Class of 1981 Reunion

Friday, April 29, and Saturday, April 30, 2022

Join us to celebrate the 40th anniversary of your graduation from Drake Law School. Reconnect with classmates who have had diverse life experiences and careers, but who all have one thing in common: a Drake Law education. You will find links to the schedule of events, hotel information, Drake Relays ticket info, and registration below. Please note: The registration deadline is April 13.

We look forward to seeing you at the reunion!

Reunion Committee: Amy Christensen, John Gelson, Nan Horvat, Marilyn Mueller, Michael Staab, and Mark Tripp

Schedule of Events

Friday, April 29

Wine and cheese reception, 5 p.m.
Cartwright Hall, Kern Commons
Sponsored by Drake University Law School/Dean Jerry Anderson

Optional tour, 5:30 p.m.
Current Drake Law students will be on hand to provide a tour of Cartwright Hall, Opperman Hall, and the Neal and Bea Smith Law Center

BBQ Dinner, 6 p.m.
Cartwright Hall, Kern Commons
Sponsored by the Class of 1981 Reunion Committee and Rob Tully

Saturday, April 30

Continental Breakfast, 9 a.m.
Neal and Bea Smith Law Center Atrium

Program Welcome, 10 a.m.

  • Class welcome – John Gelson, LW’81
  • Greeting - Suzie Pritchett, Director of Clinics & Experiential Education and Professor of Law, Drake University Law School
  • Dean’s welcome and Law School update - Jerry Anderson, Dean, Drake Law School
  • Student remarks – Riley Noble, 2021-22 Student Bar Association President

In Memoriam, 10:30 a.m.
A tribute to classmates who are not here today but who are forever in our hearts.

Continuing Legal Education program, 11 a.m.
"Policing, Racial Profiling and Protests: The Quest for Unbiased Policing and the Protection of Civil Rights"
Presented by Professors Emeriti Russell Lovell and David Walker
Neal and Bea Smith Law Center Courtroom

Lunch, Noon
Sponsored by John Gelson, Jersey Mike’s Subs

Drake Relays tickets or afternoon activity of your own choosing

Reception and dinner, 6 p.m.
Wakonda Club
3915 Fleur Drive, Des Moines
Remarks: Amy Christensen and Michael Staab

Hotel Information

As a convenience to members of the class of 1981, we have arranged for room block rates at the following area hotels. Please note that you may find better rates through your own search.

AC Hotel
401 E. Grand Avenue
Des Moines, Iowa 50309

Room rate: $169/night plus tax

Click here to book a room or call 515-518-6060. Be sure to mention that you would like to book a room with the Drake Law Class Reunion block.

Must book by April 8.

Double Tree Des Moines Airport

6800 Fleur Drive
Des Moines, Iowa 50321

Room rate: $159/night plus tax

To make a reservation, call 515-285-7777. Provide the dates of stay and tell them you would like to book a room with the Drake Law Class Reunion block.


Drake Relays Ticket Information

We have arranged for a Law School Reunion block of tickets to Drake Relays events on Friday evening, April 29, and Saturday afternoon, April 30. The exact schedule of events, promo code and registration link will be be available soon. Please contact Terri Howard at to be notified when the link is available.

Registration Details

The registration fee includes all reunion activities with the exception of Drake Relays tickets which can be purchased separately.

Alumni:  $100
Guests:    $60

Register here.

Law School Calendar 
Law School News