Matthew Doré Profile

Richard M. and Anita Calkins Distinguished Professor of Law


Areas of Expertise

Commercial and Bankruptcy Law, Business Associations


JD – University of Texas School of Law (with high honors), Order of the Coif, Texas Law Review
BA – Rice University, magna cum laude

Professional Experience

Drake Law School professor since 1992
Graves, Dougherty, Hearon & Moody in Austin, Texas
Clerk for Judge Patrick E. Higginbotham of the U.S. Court of Appeals, 5th Circuit

Selected Publications

  • Iowa Practice Series, Vol. 5 and 6: Business Organizations (2015-2016 ed., Thomson West, 2015).
  • The Iowa Business Corporation Act's Staggered Board Requirement for Public Corporations: A Hostile Takeover of Iowa Corporate Law? Drake Law Review Discourse, June 2012, at 1.
  • What, Me Worry? Personal Tort Liability and Risks for Participants in LLC, 11 UC Davis Business Law Journal 267 (2011).
  • The Duties and Liabilities of an Iowa Corporate Director, 50 Drake Law Review 207 (2002).
  • Presumed Innocent? Financial Institutions, Professional Malpractice Claims, and Defenses Based on Management Misconduct, 1995 Columbia Business Law Review 127.

Significant Accomplishments

  • Madelyn Levitt Distinguished Community Service Award, Drake University (2016)
  • Leland Forrest Oustanding Professor of the Year, Drake University Law School (2008)
  • Chair of the Iowa State Bar Association Business Law Council
  • Member and chair of the Iowa Supreme Court Commission on Continuing Legal Education
  • Chair and member of committees that revised the Iowa Uniform Partnership Act, the Iowa Uniform Limited Partnership Act, the Iowa Limited Liability Limited Partnership Law, and Articles 5 & 8 of the Iowa Uniform Commercial Code
Law School Events
January 24, 2018
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
February 2, 2018
11:00 AM - 03:30 PM
Law School News
January 9, 2018
The Drake University 2018 Engaged Citizen Conference, “Nourishing (Feeding) the World,” is scheduled for Thursday, Feb. 22, and Friday,  Feb. 23 in Drake’s Olmsted Center. Admission is free.