Skip Sub Menu

Supreme Court Celebration

Justice Waterman photo at dinner

Join us for a celebration of Drake Law School's long-standing relationship with the Iowa Supreme Court.

Drake Law School's annual Supreme Court Celebration celebrates the history of academic excellence, leadership, and service at Drake Law and honors the Law School's relationship with the Iowa Supreme Court. This year's events will be held via Zoom. 

2021 Schedule of Events

Tuesday, April 6

  • Moot Court Awards Ceremony
    5:30 p.m., Zoom

Wednesday, April 7

  • Free Alumni CLE webinar program - "The Case for Including Convicted Felons in Our Jury System"
    Panel discussion featuring James Binnall, Associate Professor of Law, Criminology, and Criminal Justice, University of California - Long Beach, and NAACP lawyers and Drake Law Professors Emeriti David Walker and Russell Lovell.
    Noon, Blackboard Collaborate

Thursday, April 8

  • Student breakout meetings with the Justices of the Iowa Supreme Court
    8:30 a.m., Zoom
  • Supreme Court Oral Arguments
    9:30 a.m., Zoom
  • Supreme Court Celebration Student Awards Recognition and Celebration (hybrid event)
    3 p.m., Cartwright Hall, Room 213, overflow/livestream to room 206 - live streamed via Zoom
  • Final Round of the Supreme Court Competition
    5:45 p.m., Zoom 
  • Drake Journal of Agricultural Law Awards Ceremony (hybrid event)
    7 p.m., Cartwright Hall, Room 213 - live streamed via Zoom

Friday, April 9

  • Drake Law Review Awards Ceremony (hybrid event)
    5 p.m., Cartwright Hall, Room 213 - live streamed via Zoom

Thursday, April 15

  • Supreme Court Celebration Alumni Event
    5 p.m., Zoom - featuring remarks by Drake Law alumnus Jim Overdorf, LW'86, Vice President of Football Administration, Buffalo Bills


2021 Awards and Recognition

Alumni of the Year
Joe P. Crookham, LW'68
Jeff Goodman, LW'85

Recent Alumnus of the Year
Adam Gregg, LW’09

Distinguished Public Service Award
Janet Phipps Burkhead, LW'05

Learn more about the alumni award winners.

See lists of other award recipients:


View photos from the 81st annual Supreme Court Celebration:

See also a list of past Supreme Court Celebration programs.

Law School News